Headlines News :
Home » » The Serengeti

The Serengeti

The Serengeti ecosystem is a geographical region in Africa. It is located in northern Tanzania and extends to the south-western Kenya between latitudes 1 and 3 S and longitudes 34 and 36 E. It covers about 30,000 km2 (12,000 sq mi). Serengeti hosts the largest mammal migration in the world, which is one of the top ten travel wonders of the natural world. This region contains several national parks and game reserves. Serengeti comes from Maasai language Maa, special, "Serengit" which means "eternal Plains".

Approximately 70 larger mammal and some 500 species of avifauna found there. High diversity in terms of species is a function of habitats ranging from forest streams, swamps, kopjes, prairies and forests Blue Wildebeests, gazelles, zebras and buffalos are some large mammals commonly found in this region.

In October, nearly 2 million herbivores migrate from hills to the mainland by crossing the Mara River. Approximately 250 thousand wildebeest die in the migration from Tanzania to Kenya with a distance of 800 km. They died of hunger, thirst, exhaustion, or predation predators. Witnessed the migration of creatures which are very exotic and wonderful imagination brings us into the world of animals.

Share this article :


Speak up your mind

Tell us what you're thinking... !

Proudly powered by Blogger
Copyright © 2012. Fantastic Travel - All Rights Reserved